Press release: Dr Klaus Reinhardt elected president of the German Medical Association on May 30, 2019

The 122nd German Medical Assembly in Münster elected Dr Klaus Reinhardt as the new president of the German Medical Association (GMA) on 30 May 2019. The 59-year-old specialist in general medicine succeeds Prof. Dr Frank Ulrich Montgomery, who served in this role for the past eight years. Professor Montgomery, who did not run for re-election, has been appointed honorary president of the German Medical Association and will continue his work at the international level as president of the Standing Committee of European Doctors (CPME) and chair of council of the World Medical Association (WMA).

Dr Reinhardt has been a practice-based specialist in general medicine for 25 years. Since 2005, he has been vice-president and a board member of the State Chamber of Physicians of Westphalia-Lippe. He has also been a member of the board of the German Medical Association for the past four years, serving as chair of the committee on the physician fee schedule for privately reimbursed medical services since 2016. Dr Reinhardt will continue to serve as chair of the Hartmannbund, an independent organisation which represents the professional, political and social interests of physicians, dentists and medical students in Germany, a position he has held since 2011.

In his address to the German Medical Assembly, Dr Reinhardt called for unity in the medical profession and for the development of intelligent, future-oriented strategies. He stressed the importance of upholding and defending the autonomy of the medical profession, stating that the challenges facing the profession are too great to leave to politics alone. Dr Reinhardt also emphasised the role physicians can play in actively shaping change in the medical profession, particularly in this age of digitalisation, in order to safeguard the patient-physician relationship and to ensure that it is governed by empathy and trust.

The new president was born in 1960 in Bonn to a medical family. In 1993, having completed his medical studies in Padua, Italy, he took over his parents’ medical practice in Bielefeld, which he has continued to run with a partner until now.

The term of office for the president of the German Medical Association is four years.

The German Medical Assembly also elected two new vice-presidents, Dr Heidrun Gitter, president of the State Chamber of Physicians of Bremen, and Dr Ellen Lundershausen, president of the State Chamber of Physicians of Thuringia.

The German Medical Association (Bundesärztekammer / BÄK) is the central organisation in the system of medical self-governance in Germany. As the joint association of the 17 State Chambers of Physicians in Germany (Landesärztekammern), it represents the professional interests of physicians in the Federal Republic of Germany and plays an active role in opinion-forming processes with regard to health and social policy.